Posted on Leave a comment

Travel Photographer of the Year: entries now open!

From fiery lava flows to a magical, snow-swirled New York street scene or the imperious gaze of an elusive, endangered Iberian lynx, the winning images in the 2016 international Travel Photographer of the Year awards are stunning.

Photographers from 20 countries won awards in 2016, with Joel Santos the first-ever Portuguese overall winner in the award’s 14-year history, beating photographers from 123 countries to take Travel Photographer of the Year 2016 title.

Joel’s winning entry (which wins him a substantial pot of prizes, including Páramo) features:

firstly, an intimate portfolio depicting traditional fishing in Ghana (shown here and above).

secondly, an aerial portfolio captured with a drone, giving a bird’s eye view of one of the hottest places in the world, Ethiopia’s Danakil Depression.

In the single image categories – and all winning Páramo kit:

Biran Zhao (China) won ‘Shaped by Light’ category

Michele Palazzo (Italy) won ‘Cities – Architecture & Spaces’ category

Luke Massey (UK) won ‘Wildlife & Nature’.

Other Páramo winners include:

Alison Cahill (UK) in the New Talent award

Marina Spironetti (Italy) in the ‘Smart Shot’ category for images taken on mobile phone or tablet.

To see the TPOTY winning images across all categories, visit the 2016 Winners’ Gallery.

To enter the 2017 Travel Photographer of the Year, find out more about the categories, requirements – and prizes – here.
CLOSING DATE: 25th September 2017

Leave a Reply